Our Commitment to Your Privacy

The Canadian Centre on Substance Abuse / Centre canadien de lutte contre l’alcoolisme et les toxicomanies (“CCSA”, “we” or “us”) is committed to the protection of privacy for those who provide personal information to us. As such, we have published this Privacy Commitment to inform visitors to CCSA’s websites (CCSA, the Canadian Network of Substance Abuse and Allied Professionals (CNSAAP), Issues of Substance conference (IOS), the National Framework for Action to Reduce the Harms Associated with Alcohol and Other Drugs and Substances in Canada, and Xperiment.ca) and our social networking services (Twitter, Facebook, LinkedIn, etc.) of our policies and procedures regarding the collection, use and disclosure of personally identifiable information received from our users or visitors. Please note: this policy will be updated from time to time; as a result, a revised Privacy Commitment will be posted to notify our visitors of changes.

Your personal information (such as your name, phone number, email, address and personal comments) is not automatically gathered by CCSA. This information is only obtained if you supply it voluntarily, by contacting us via email or phone, registering in a secure portion of the site, or contributing to or commenting on our social media sites. We do not sell or share your personal information to third parties for marketing or promotional purposes.

Personal information consent


Prior to collecting your personal information, CCSA will explain how we intend to use this data. Should we wish to use your information for any other purpose not previously stated, we first obtain your consent; this includes collecting information from third parties.

CCSA’s use and disclosure of personal information


We collect personal information from you and use that information in order to:
  1. Set up and manage your subscription (including by way of automatic subscribe and unsubscribe options) to CCSA newsletters (such as Action News, Network News and Addiction News Daily), reports, and electronic or other updates. We collect only the information we need to send you the updates and information that you have requested. In the event that your subscription is the sole reason that you have provided this information we will not use it for any other purpose;
  2. Set up, update and maintain our directory databases for those individuals who have indicated that they wish to be added to CCSA databases (such as our Canadian Addictions Researchers database);
  3. Respond to specific requests for information or questions you have raised with us.
  4. Receive, publish or post comments or information that you provide on our website or in connection with CCSA social media sites;
  5. Organize conferences (including CCSA’s biannual Issues of Substance (IOS) conference), maintain records of conference attendees and provide a business contact list of conference attendees; and
  6. Contact conferences attendees in order to plan for future conferences. We maintain a record of contact information of past IOS conference attendees in order to provide those attendees with information for future IOS conferences.

Withdrawing your consent


You may withdraw your consent for CCSA to use your personal information for one or more of the above purposes by contacting info@ccsa.ca. By withdrawing your consent you acknowledge that CCSA may not be able to provide further information to you and, of course, you may always decide not to provide further information on CCSA’s social media sites.

Third-party disclosure


CCSA will not collect, use or disclose to a third party your personal information without your consent except where:
  1. We are required or permitted to do so by law (such as to comply with court orders, warrants or subpoenas or requests by law enforcement agencies to enforce our website terms and conditions of use or to protect the rights, property or safety of our website and the users of the site); or
  2. Such information could aid in an emergency where people’s lives and/or safety may be at stake.
We do not share your personal information with third parties for marketing purposes. We may contract with third parties to help us with services related to event planning/conferences, such as collecting data for registration and operationalizing our websites, which includes technical and processing services, developing and updating website content and information, analyzing website performance, and updating and maintaining our databases and subscription services). These third parties are obligated to keep the information secure and confidential and must use the information only in connection with providing services to CCSA.

CCSA has contracted Golden Planners Inc. (GPI) to act as the professional conference organizers for the 2011 IOS conference. GPI is, however, required to adhere to strict privacy controls and standards when collecting, using and disclosing personal information collected in connection with the IOS conference.

Some of our databases, such as the Treatment Services database, compile and update information from the treatment service organizations themselves or is obtained from public records and other sources. In cases where individuals provide information to us concerning certain treatment services, CCSA removes all personal information from the treatment service listing prior to adding this information to the database.

Personal information retention


Personal information collected by CCSA is securely stored and maintained in Canada. Access to personal information collected by CCSA is restricted to those who need to access the information (on a confidential basis) or to legally authorized governmental or law enforcement agencies. Information is retained for only as long as that information is necessary for the purposes for which it was collected.

Security measures


We carefully protect any personal information that we have by housing all collected information in secure physical premises and through the use of various other safeguards.

Web Analytics


We use web analytics services such as Google Analytics and Webtrends to help analyze the use of our websites in order to serve you better. These tools use ‘cookies’—small text files containing a unique identification number that recognizes your computer’s browser (but not you) when you visit a website—to collect and generate information (including your IP address) about your visits to our sites. This information is then transmitted to the Google or Webtrends servers in an anonymous form for processing. We study patterns of website activity so that we can improve the experience of visitors to our sites. The use of these tools does not allow us or our analytics service providers to identify individuals.

You can opt-out of analytics activity by setting your browser to notify you when a cookie is sent and to block analytics cookies, if desired. Please consult your browser's help menu for instructions. Visiting our website with analytics cookies disabled will have no significant impact on your browsing experience.

Google currently offers a free Google Analytics opt-out tool for Internet Explorer (versions 7 and 8), Google Chrome (version 4.x and higher) and Mozilla Firefox (version 3.5 and higher): http://tools.google.com/dlpage/gaoptout.

Linked sites


From time to time, CCSA’s website may also reference or contain links to other websites. We do not endorse any other non-CCSA website and accept no responsibility for the quality, content, nature or reliability of the sites accessible from our websites or sites that may link to CCSA websites. When leaving CCSA’s websites, you should be aware that CCSA’s terms and policies, including this Privacy Commitment no longer govern your online activities; as such, we do not have any control over non-CCSA websites. Please ensure to always review the applicable terms and policies, including privacy and data-gathering practices, of the linked site prior to using any other site or providing any personal information to a third party.

Our commitment to the open and fair use of CCSA’s web-based platforms and social media sites


CCSA believes that social media sites offer an opportunity for an open and equal exchange of ideas. We welcome and encourage open, honest and sustained dialogue between participants on our web-based platforms and social media sites. We have, therefore, developed a code of conduct that we believe should guide such exchanges. When participating in one of CCSA’s web-based platforms and social media sites, please adhere to the following user policy:
  • Be open-minded: Keep a collaborative and unbiased perspective to encourage debate and dialogue. Suspend your judgment, recognizing that everyone has an equal right to participate. Please be respectful of others view’s and recognize that differences of opinion do not equate to right and wrong.
  • Participate constructively: Everyone is encouraged to share their ideas; please participate in a positive manner.
  • Respect others: Conduct that is or may be considered to be offensive, attacking, illegal, damaging, harmful, threatening, abusive, harassing, defamatory, obscene, hateful or is otherwise objectionable is prohibited on CCSA’s web-based platforms and social media sites. Leave status, role and stereotypes aside.
  • Stay on topic: Keep your comments focused to the subject at hand.
  • Open participation: The views shared by participants do not represent the views of CCSA. We facilitate these discussion forums to give everyone the opportunity to express their opinions in accordance with this policy.
Please note: CCSA reserves the right to monitor and remove content on all CCSA web-based platforms and social media sites that we consider to be offensive, derogatory, abusive, malicious or otherwise harmful, unacceptable or obscene. We also reserve the right to exclude, either temporarily or permanently, anyone not acting in accordance with this code of conduct and our principles of open and fair use of CCSA’s web-based platforms and social media sites.

How to contact us


If you have questions or concerns about this Privacy Commitment, wish to have access to your personal information or want to correct or update any personal information, please call or write us at (613) 235-4048 or info@ccsa.ca.

Last updated: June 2011
Date Modified: 2011-07-22
terms of use | privacy | disclaimer | contact us | site map

AVIS DE CONFIDENTIALITÉ

Le Centre canadien de lutte contre l’alcoolisme et les toxicomanies / Canadian Centre on Substance Abuse (« CCLAT » ou « nous ») est déterminé à assurer la protection de la vie privée des personnes qui lui fournissent des renseignements personnels. Par conséquent, nous avons publié le présent avis de confidentialité pour informer les visiteurs des sites du CCLAT (CCLAT, Réseau canadien des professionnels en toxicomanie et de domaines connexes (RCPTDC), conférence Questions de substance, Cadre national d’action pour réduire les méfaits liés à l’alcool et aux autres drogues et substances au Canada et Xperimentations.ca) et de nos services de réseautage social (Twitter, Facebook, LinkedIn, etc.), de nos politiques et procédures concernant la collecte, l’utilisation et la divulgation des renseignements permettant d’identifier une personne reçus des utilisateurs ou des visiteurs. Veuillez noter que cette politique sera mise à jour, le cas échéant; par conséquent, une version révisée de l’avis de confidentialité sera affichée pour aviser les visiteurs des changements apportés.

Vos renseignements personnels (nom, numéro de téléphone, courriel, adresse et commentaires personnels) ne sont pas automatiquement recueillis par le CCLAT. Ces renseignements sont seulement obtenus si vous nous les fournissez de façon volontaire en communiquant avec nous par courriel ou par téléphone, en entrant dans une partie sécurisée du site ou en faisant des commentaires sur nos sites de médias sociaux. Vos renseignements personnels ne seront ni vendus, ni partagés avec une tierce partie à des fins de commercialisation ou de promotion.

Consentement lié aux renseignements personnel


Avant de recueillir vos renseignements personnels, le CCLAT vous expliquera comment il utilisera ces données. Si nous souhaitons utiliser vos renseignements à toute autre fin non énoncée précédemment, nous obtiendrons d’abord votre consentement; cela comprend la collecte de renseignements auprès de tierces parties.

Utilisation et divulgation des renseignements personnels par le CCLAT


Nous recueillons des renseignements personnels auprès de vous et nous utilisons ces renseignements pour :
  • Traiter et gérer votre abonnement (y compris les options d’abonnement et d’annulation d’abonnement automatiques) aux bulletins d’information du CCLAT (comme Action Nouvelles, Nouvelles du Réseau et Toxicomanie au quotidien), aux rapports et aux mises à jour électroniques ou autres. Nous recueillons seulement les renseignements dont nous avons besoin pour vous faire parvenir les mises à jour et l’information que vous avez demandées. Si vous avez seulement fourni vos renseignements pour vous abonner, nous ne les utiliserons pas à d'autres fins.
  • Créer, mettre à jour et tenir à jour nos répertoires pour les personnes qui ont indiqué qu’elles souhaitaient être ajoutées aux bases de données du CCLAT (comme notre base de données sur les chercheurs en toxicomanie au Canada).
  • Répondre à des demandes précises de renseignements ou à des questions que vous nous avez posées.
  • Recevoir, publier ou afficher des commentaires ou de l’information que vous nous fournissez sur notre site Web ou sur les sites de médias sociaux du CCLAT.
  • Organiser des conférences (dont la conférence biennale Questions de substance du CCLAT), tenir à jour les dossiers sur les participants aux conférences et fournir une liste des coordonnées des participants aux conférences.
  • Communiquer avec les participants aux conférences afin de planifier les conférences à venir. Nous tenons à jour un dossier avec les coordonnées de tous les participants qui ont déjà pris part aux conférences afin de fournir à ces personnes de l’information sur les conférences Questions de substance à venir.

Retrait de consentement


Vous pouvez retirer votre consentement afin que le CCLAT n’utilise pas vos renseignements personnels pour une ou plusieurs des raisons susmentionnées en communiquant avec nous à info@ccsa.ca. En retirant votre consentement, vous comprenez qu’il est possible que le CCLAT ne puisse pas vous fournir d’autre information et que vous pouvez toujours choisir de fournir d’autres renseignements sur les sites de médias sociaux du CCLAT.

    Divulgation à une tierce partie


    Le CCLAT ne recueillera pas vos renseignements personnels sans votre consentement, ne les utilisera pas et ne les divulguera pas à une tierce partie, sauf dans les cas suivants :
    • Lorsque la loi l’exige ou nous permet de le faire (p. ex. pour respecter l’ordonnance d’un tribunal, un mandat, une assignation ou des demandes d’organismes d’application de la loi concernant le renforcement des modalités d’utilisation de notre site Web ou pour protéger les droits, la propriété ou la sécurité de notre site Web et les utilisateurs du site).
    • Lorsque ces renseignements pourraient être utiles dans une situation d’urgence où la vie ou la sécurité d’une personne pourrait être en danger.
    Nous ne partageons pas vos renseignements personnels avec des tierces parties à des fins de commercialisation. Il est possible que l’on conclue des contrats avec des tierces parties pour nous aider avec les services liés à la planification d’événements ou aux conférences, comme la collecte de données pour l’inscription et l’opérationnalisation de nos sites Web, ce qui comprend les services techniques et les services de traitement, la création et la mise à jour du contenu des sites Web et de l’information, l’analyse du rendement des sites Web, la mise à jour de nos bases de données et les services d’abonnement. Ces tierces parties sont tenues d’assurer la sécurité et la confidentialité de ces renseignements et elles doivent utiliser ces derniers seulement pour fournir des services au CCLAT.

    Le CCLAT a conclu un contrat avec Golden Planners Inc. (GPI) afin que ce dernier agisse à titre d’organisateur de conférence professionnel pour la conférence Questions de substance 2011. Toutefois, GPI est tenu d’adhérer à des normes et à des contrôles de confidentialité stricts lors de la collecte, de l’utilisation et de la divulgation des renseignements personnels recueillis en lien avec la conférence Questions de substance.

    Certaines de nos bases de données, comme la base de données sur les services de traitement, compilent et mettent à jour les renseignements provenant d’organismes de services de traitement ou de dossiers publics et d’autres sources. Lorsqu’une personne nous fournit des renseignements concernant certains services de traitement, le CCLAT supprime tous les renseignements personnels de la liste de services de traitement avant d’entrer cette information dans la base de données.

    Rétention des renseignements personnels


    Les renseignements personnels recueillis par le CCLAT sont stockés et tenus à jour de manière sûre au Canada. L’accès aux renseignements personnels recueillis par le CCLAT est limité aux personnes qui doivent avoir accès à ces renseignements (en toute confidentialité), aux organismes gouvernementaux et aux organismes d’application de la loi autorisés. Les renseignements sont conservés seulement pendant la période nécessaire aux fins pour lesquelles ils ont été recueillis.


    Mesures de sécurité


    Nous protégeons avec soin tous les renseignements personnels que nous avons en conservant toute l’information recueillie dans des locaux sécurisés et au moyen de diverses autres mesures de protection.


    Analytique Web


    Nous avons recours à des services d’analytique Web tels que Google Analytics et Webtrends en vue d’analyser l’activité des utilisateurs sur nos sites Web et ainsi de vous proposer un service amélioré. Ces outils utilisent des « témoins », soit de petits fichiers textes qui contiennent un numéro d’identification unique qui reconnaît votre navigateur Web, mais pas vous, lorsque vous visitez un site Web, pour collecter et générer de l’information (y compris votre adresse IP) sur les visites que vous effectuez sur nos sites Web. Ces données sont ensuite transmises aux serveurs de Google ou Webtrends, qui les traitent ensuite de façon anonyme. Nous étudions les schémas d’activité sur nos sites Web pour optimiser l’expérience des visiteurs sur nos sites. L’utilisation de ces outils ne nous autorise pas à identifier les utilisateurs, et cette interdiction s’applique aussi à nos fournisseurs de services analytiques.

    Vous pouvez choisir de ne pas participer à cette analyse d’activité en réglant votre navigateur de sorte qu’il vous envoie une notification lors de l’envoi d’un témoin; vous pourrez ainsi bloquer les témoins analytiques si vous le souhaitez. Veuillez vous reporter à la rubrique d’aide de votre navigateur pour obtenir des instructions. Le fait de visiter nos sites Web en ayant désactivé ces témoins n’aura aucune incidence importante sur votre expérience de navigation.

    Google propose actuellement un module gratuit qui permet de désactiver les témoins de Google Analytics sur Internet Explorer (versions 7 et 8), Google Chrome (version 4.x et ultérieure) et Mozilla Firefox (version 3.5 et ultérieure). Cet utilitaire est disponible à l’adresse : http://tools.google.com/dlpage/gaoptout.


    Liens vers d’autres sites


    Il est possible que certaines sections du site Web du CCLAT contiennent des liens vers d’autres sites Web. Nous ne sommes associés à aucun autre site qui n’est pas lié au CCLAT et nous n’acceptons aucune responsabilité pour la qualité, le contenu, la nature ou la fiabilité des sites accessibles à partir de nos sites Web ou des sites qui contiennent un lien vers les sites Web du CCLAT. Sachez que lorsque vous quittez un site du CCLAT, les conditions et les politiques du CCLAT, y compris le présent avis de confidentialité, ne régissent plus vos activités en ligne et que, par conséquent, nous n’avons aucun contrôle sur les sites Web qui n’appartiennent pas au CCLAT. Veuillez vous assurer de toujours lire les conditions et les politiques applicables des sites Web sur lesquels vous allez à partir de nos sites (ce qui comprend la protection de la vie privée et les pratiques de collecte de données) avant d’utiliser un autre site ou de fournir des renseignements personnels à une tierce partie.


    Notre engagement envers l’utilisation ouverte et équitable des plateformes Web et des médias sociaux du CCLAT


    Le CCLAT est d’avis que les sites de médias sociaux permettent d’échanger des idées de façon ouverte et équitable. Nous encourageons les visiteurs de nos sites Web et de nos sites de médias sociaux à avoir un dialogue ouvert, honnête et soutenu. Voilà pourquoi nous avons établi un code de conduite pour vous guider dans vos échanges. Lorsque vous participez à l’une des plateformes Web du CCLAT ou à une discussion sur un de nos sites de médias sociaux, veuillez adhérer à la politique d’utilisation suivante :
    • Ouverture d’esprit : Ayez un esprit de collaboration et demeurez impartial afin de favoriser la discussion et le dialogue. Évitez de porter des jugements et reconnaissez que chaque personne a le droit de participer. Soyez respectueux envers le point de vue des autres et reconnaissez qu’aucune opinion n’est bonne ou mauvaise.
    • Participation constructive : Tout le monde est encouragé à faire part de ses idées; veuillez participer de façon positive.
    • Respect des autres : Toute conduite étant ou pouvant être considérée comme offensive, attaquante, illégale, préjudiciable, nuisible, menaçante, abusive, harcelante, diffamatoire, obscène ou haineuse, ou qui est répréhensible de toute autre façon qui soit, est interdite sur les plateformes Web et les sites de médias sociaux du CCLAT. Laissez votre statut, votre rôle et vos stéréotypes de côté.
    • Respect du sujet : Assurez-vous que vos commentaires portent sur le sujet de discussion.
    • Participation ouverte : Les opinions partagées par les participants ne représentent pas celles du CCLAT. Nous offrons ces forums de discussion pour donner à chacun l’occasion d’exprimer son opinion conformément à la présente politique.
    Veuillez noter que le CCLAT se réserve le droit de surveiller et de retirer tout contenu sur toutes les plateformes Web et tous les sites de médias sociaux du CCLAT qu’il considère insultant, désobligeant, injurieux, malveillant, préjudiciable, inacceptable ou obscène. Nous nous réservons également le droit d’exclure, de façon temporaire ou permanente, toute personne qui ne respecte pas ce code de conduite de même que nos principes d’utilisation ouverte et équitable des plateformes Web et des sites de médias sociaux du CCLAT.


    Pour nous joindre


    Si vous avez des questions ou des préoccupations au sujet de l’avis de confidentialité ou si vous souhaitez avoir accès à vos renseignements personnels pour y apporter des corrections ou les mettre à jour, vous pouvez nous joindre au 613-235-4048 ou à info@ccsa.ca.

    Dernière mise à jour : juin 2011
    Date de modification : 2011-07-22
    Conditions d’utilisation | Confidentialité | Désaveu de responsabilité  | Contactez-nous | Plan du site